.Scorpions – Blackout
Label: Mercury – SRM-1-4039
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Club Edition “CRC”
Country: US
Released: 1982
Genre: Rock
Style: Hard Rock



Blackout is the eighth studio album by German rock band Scorpions. It was released in 1982 on Harvest Records and Mercury Records.

After losing his voice during the writing of the album lead singer Klaus Meine had to undergo surgery on his vocal cords and was uncertain as to whether or not he would be able to record. Demos of the material were recorded with singer Don Dokken. However none of those recordings are featured on the album and Dokken is only credited with backing vocals.

In Kerrang! issue 12 Rudolf Schenker said that he could not choose between his guitar solos on “China White” so the US and European releases differed in this detail.

A self-portrait of artist Gottfried Helnwein is featured on the cover of the album. Rudolf Schenker portrays this character in the “No One Like You” music video.

The RIAA certified Blackout Gold on 24 June 1982 and Platinum on 8 March 1984.

“China White” was used as entrance music for the professional wrestling tag team The Skyscrapers in World Championship Wrestling.

Rolling Stone ranked Blackout as 73rd on their list of “The 100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time” in 2017

.Scorpions – Blackout
Label: Mercury – SRM-1-4039
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Club Edition
Country: US
Released: 1982
Genre: Rock
Style: Hard Rock

Track list
A1 Blackout 3:48
A2 Can’t Live Without You 3:46
A3 No One Like You 3:55
A4 You Give Me All I Need 3:38
A5 Now! 2:33
B1 Dynamite 4:12
B2 Arizona 3:53
B3 China White 6:56
B4 When The Smoke Is Going Down 3:50

Scorpions are a German rock band formed in 1965 in Hanover by Rudolf Schenker. Since the band’s inception, its musical style has ranged from hard rock, heavy metal, and glam metal. The lineup from 1978 to 1992 was the most successful incarnation of the group, and included Klaus Meine (vocals), Rudolf Schenker (rhythm guitar), Matthias Jabs (lead guitar), Francis Buchholz (bass), and Herman Rarebell (drums). The band’s only continuous member has been Schenker, although Meine has appeared on all of Scorpions’ studio albums, while Jabs has been a consistent member since 1978, and bassist Paweł Mąciwoda and drummer Mikkey Dee have been in the band since 2003 and 2016 respectively.
During the mid-1970s, with guitarist Uli Jon Roth part of the line-up, the music of the Scorpions was defined as hard rock. After the departure of Roth in 1978 and short-lived reunion with Schenker’s brother Michael, Matthias Jabs joined and, following the guidance of producer Dieter Dierks, the Scorpions changed their sound towards hard rock/heavy metal, mixed with rock power ballads. Throughout the 1980s the group received positive reviews and critical acclaim from music critics, and experienced commercial success with the albums Animal Magnetism (1980), Blackout (1982), Love at First Sting (1984), the live recording World Wide Live (1985), Savage Amusement (1988) and Best of Rockers ‘n’ Ballads (1989), which is their best-selling compilation album.

Scorpions’ eleventh studio album Crazy World (1990) was also well-received, and included the song “Wind of Change”, a symbolic anthem of the political changes in Eastern Europe in the late 1980s and early 1990s and the fall of the Berlin Wall. It is one of the best-selling singles in the world with over fourteen million copies sold. Scorpions have sold over 110 million records in total. They have released 18 studio albums, 27 compilation albums and 74 singles. Six of their singles have reached number one on the charts in different countries. Their albums, singles, compilations and video releases have reached gold, platinum and multi-platinum status 200 times in different countries.

Rolling Stone described the Scorpions as “the heroes of heavy metal”, and MTV called them “Ambassadors of Rock”. The band has influenced a number of acts such as Guns N’ Roses, Mötley Crüe, Def Leppard, Metallica, Megadeth, Testament, Skid Row, Cinderella, Doro, Helloween, Hanoi Rocks, and Yngwie Malmsteen. The Scorpions were ranked number 46 on VH1’s Greatest Artists of Hard Rock programme, with “Rock You Like a Hurricane” at number 18 on VH1’s list of the 100 Greatest Hard Rock Songs. “Still Loving You” ranked 22nd place among the greatest ballads. They have received prestigious awards such as three World Music Awards, a star on the Hollywood Rock wall, and a presence in the permanent exhibition of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. In 2015, the group celebrated its 50th anniversary.


Studio albums

Lonesome Crow (1972)
Fly to the Rainbow (1974)
In Trance (1975)
Virgin Killer (1976)
Taken by Force (1977)
Lovedrive (1979)
Animal Magnetism (1980)
Blackout (1982)
Love at First Sting (1984)
Savage Amusement (1988)
Crazy World (1990)
Face the Heat (1993)
Pure Instinct (1996)
Eye II Eye (1999)
Moment of Glory (2000)
Unbreakable (2004)
Humanity: Hour I (2007)
Sting in the Tail (2010)
Return to Forever (2015)
Rock Believer (2022)