The Smiths were an English rock band formed in Manchester in 1982. The group, whose best-known line-up comprised Morrissey, Johnny Marr, Andy Rourke and Mike Joyce, are regarded as one of the most important to emerge from the British independent music scene of the 1980s.

The Smiths were signed to the independent label Rough Trade Records. Based on the songwriting partnership of Morrissey and Marr, the Smiths’ focus on a guitar, bass and drum sound, and fusion of 1960s rock and post-punk, were a rejection of the synth-pop sound that was predominant at the time. Marr’s Rickenbacker guitar work was reminiscent of the jangle pop sound of Roger McGuinn from the Byrds.

Morrissey’s complex, literate lyrics combined themes of ordinary lives with mordant humour.

Several Smiths singles reached the top 20 of the UK Singles Chart and all their studio albums reached the top five of the UK Albums Chart, including the number-one album Meat Is Murder (1985). They achieved mainstream success in Europe with The Queen Is Dead (1986) and Strangeways, Here We Come (1987), both of which entered the top 20 of the European Albums Chart. Internal tensions led to their breakup in 1987, followed by lawsuits over royalties; the band have refused offers to reunite. Their live album Rank (1988) reached the top 10 in Europe

The Smiths is the self-titled debut studio album by English rock band the Smiths, released on 20 February 1984 by Rough Trade Records. After the original production by Troy Tate was felt to be inadequate, John Porter re-recorded the album in London, Manchester and Stockport during breaks in the band’s UK tour during September 1983.

The album was well received by critics and listeners, and reached number two on the UK Albums Chart, staying on the chart for 33 weeks. It established the Smiths as a prominent band in the 1980s music scene in the United Kingdom. The album also became an international success, peaking at number 45 in the European Albums Chart, remaining in the chart for 21 weeks. After its exit of the European chart, it then re-entered in the Hot 100 Albums from September for another run of three weeks.

No.        Title Length

1. “Still Ill” 3:23
2. “Hand in Glove” 3:25
3. “What Difference Does It Make?” 3:51
4. “I Don’t Owe You Anything” 4:05
5. “Suffer Little Children” 5:28
US edition
6. “This Charming Man” 2:41

The Smiths (1984)
Meat Is Murder (1985)
The Queen Is Dead (1986)
Strangeways, Here We Come (1987)